Australia win 10th Azlan Shah Cup in style

Australia win 10th Azlan Shah Cup in style

India's hopes of a podium finish were dashed as they squandered lead on two occasions and went down 2-3 to Ireland in the Sultan Azlan Shah hockey tournament here Friday.

India will next play in the 5-6th place match Saturday.

For India, Varun Kumar scored a brace (fifth and 32nd), while Shilanand Lakra (28th) and Gurjant Singh (37th) found the target once each.

Julian Dale exploited some poor marking by the Indian defenders to get a consolation goal for the European minnows in the final quarter.

Gleghorne had a short corner blocked with just over four minutes remaining, before England removed Pinner to use Brendan Creed as a kicking-back.

But two minutes later, India won their third penalty corner of the match and this time, Amit Rohidas's flick was strong enough to fly past the Irish goalie, giving the 2017 bronze medallists 2-1 lead.

England's Adam Dixon was shown a green card with five minutes to play and a run on the left by Malaysia's Najmi Jazlan saw the ball deflected onto the roof of the net. But managed to defeat India in this match.

The final was goalless until Govers scored from Australia's first penalty corner in the 38th minute.

The Irish dominated ball possession while their goalkeeper Jamie Carr came up with some brilliant saves to keep India under pressure.

IT HAPPENED Ireland came back twice from a goal down to record their first ever win over India.

India were once again caught napping in defence and were made to pay when Sean Murray pulled Ireland level for the second time in the match.

After a big win over Malaysia, it seemed that the Indian team has made a comeback and against Ireland they made a 2-1 lead in the 26th minute.

Bobby Crutchley's team then enjoyed a prolonged spell of possession as they tried to force an equaliser and it nearly came in the 44th minute as Chris Griffiths did well to control a terrific Mark Gleghorne pass, but his bullet strike rippled the netting on the wrong side of the post.